Archive for April 17th, 2011

Product review: GoProHD Hero-Stills

April 17, 2011

The GoPro HD camera is a pain in the butt to program, learn and use, but once you get the hang of it, it’s a digital must for South Florida. Yes, this is a full HD still and video camera but for today, let’s talk about stills.

The 5 megapixel GoPro Hero is the coolest thing in cameras since the ill-fated Flip. As a still camera, you can set it at three different resolutions with the widest giving you an unbelievable 170 degree view.

That is if you can set it at all. The GoPro user manual makes the IKEA assembly instructions look like “Green Eggs and Ham.” Really guys, this is a complex electronic device and I get a two sheet fold out??? By comparison, one of my Nikon manuals is 223 pages.  So bring your patience and enlist the help of a tech-savvy 12 year old.  I guarantee once you figure it out, you’ll love what you can do. Shoot single shots, three frame bursts or set it to shoot at 2, 5, 10, 30, or 60 second intervals. But just like a point and shoot, it’s anyone’s guess when the shutter will go off so take lots of shots.

Another huge obstacle to the faint of heart is the lack of a viewfinder so you only have a general idea of what you’ve got until you download your shots. I don’t blame them for that one. It is what it is. It’s also the ultimate P.O.V. camera. My dentist really had no idea what I was doing when I shot this last Ash Wednesday…

It comes with a waterproof housing and is tough as nails. But be careful in open water; the HD Hero does not float.

The GoPro comes with a bunch of accessories so you can mount it to a helmet and shoot as you jump out of a plane. Sorry I have no personal sample on that one yet. I’d have to say that this is the best 300 bucks I’ve spent in recent memory.

I like it so much that I’m going to get at least another one which will come in handy for covering multiple angles at the same time. That will be especially useful for rolling film which is another post for another day.

~Mike

www.lamonicaproductions.com


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,521 other followers