Daddy, are they going to play football next year?


I happened to come across an NFL player’s pay stub.  Oddly it looks rather normal if you look at it from afar. It’s from ADP…I love it!

The line items is where it gets real interesting. I know you’re going to look at every one. It’s kinda hard to resist, isn’t it? Here’s the breakdown:

Yes the recession has thrown a wrench into ticket sales and a lot of other ways the owners make money but I’m not crying for them either. After all they have to pay 53 of these guys on their roster and tons of other expenses. But many of the 32 NFL team owners are billionaires. If you want to know exactly how much a billion really is, look at this post called, “What would you do with a loose billion?” Put it this way. No one on either side is ironing their own underwear.

I’m not taking sides. I just want to see football played. The President has even asked them to play ball.  Explaining this to a 9 year old is tough when players wear million dollar bling earrings and drive $2,600,000 Bugattis Veyrons. My son is addicted to ESPN on TV and I don’t have a great answer when I hear, “Daddy are they going to play football next year?” What do you think of all this? Someone help me out here.

~Mike