Using social media alone, soldiers located in 2 hours 48 minutes


To recap for those who missed it, I found an SD memory card on the street. It happened to contain 81 pictures of men and women in our armed forces. The date stamp on all the pictures is 2004.

Here’s what it took to track down the people on the memory card:

-Two Facebook posts

-One blog post

-One tweet by me

-31 retweets by others

-Total time: 2 hours and 48 minutes.

Here’s the note I received with the successful connection: “Its so great that you found this pictures, he’s actually one of my oldest friends and I still have letters that he sent me from boot camp during the year these photos were taken. Im trying to track him down cause he lives in orlando now…but I’m getting the word to him to get in touch.”

Most days I get asked about ROI from social media. Now we all have a great case history. I just happened to be the guy that found the card.

~Mike

Tags: , , , , , ,

24 Responses to “Using social media alone, soldiers located in 2 hours 48 minutes”

  1. Phil Says:

    Good Job!

  2. Terez Williamson Says:

    Mike, this is such a shining example of how powerful the reach of social media is, and how much good can be done backed by the intention of good people like you.

    Bravo man!

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      This was a great event for me personally and a pretty cool accomplishment for us social media types. It was just chance that those were the pictures on the card. I’m glad it wasn’t something else. But what I’m most happy about is that the person who has put his life on the line defending us is safe and sound.

      ~Mike

  3. sistermaryblogs Says:

    You rocketh, Mr. Mike

  4. blackwatertown Says:

    Good job.
    Well done.

  5. TheDudeDean Says:

    Social Media FTW!

  6. Annette Says:

    Very cool story. You should share this with the Today show.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      I’m sure this story will get some kind of publicity some time, but I’m not shopping it around. The story itself is cool enough (picks up phone to call Today show).

  7. Murray Izenwasser Says:

    Friggin Awesome Mike! What a great story!

  8. Perla Terzian Says:

    That was awesome. I’m sure he can’t wait to get his memories back.

  9. Maria Says:

    This is amazing!!! Proof that we are connected in so many ways we don’t even know. SM helps facilitate that.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Remember playing “telephone?” We’d start at one end of the room and pass on a sentence or something and see what it came out as at the end of the line.

      Well, no one botched the handoff on this one. Pretty nuts.

      ~Mike

  10. (@JamiMiami) Says:

    Fantastic! You’re a good guy, Mike LaMonica. I’m going to send this to someone (a PR person) who told me “I don’t get Twitter. I just don’t think it’s relevant”.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Everyone stepped up. You were with this from the beginning even before I knew what was on the card. This story could have been anything. Wild! I’m glad it all worked out.

      ~MIke

  11. Natascha OS Says:

    Mike, thanks for posting this and letting us know what has been happening! This is definitely an example of when Social Media is used correctly and by people – like you – who care = a winning combination! ;-)

  12. islamicbakmagics Says:

    […] Using social media alone, soldiers located in 2 hours 48┬áminutes […]

  13. Jarret Streiner Says:

    Great job Mike, glad we all could help you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,521 other followers

