Please leave more menus on my doorknob!


I used to hate them. All of them.

The doorknob menus, the windshield flyers and the spam IRL that kills trees and stuffs my mailbox. But upon further examination, I’ve come to like them and I know you will as well. I don’t care if this has been done to death. This is still fun because in the business world we have a lot of these:

They deliver:

I never pay irregular prices:

I love these and it looks like they do as well:

Here’s my favorite pasta:

The ingredients are always fresh:

And what’s a good Italian meal without these:

I once learned a lesson from Norman Berry, the Worldwide Creative Director when I was at Ogilvy & Mather, N.Y. He told this short story.

There are two places that sell eggs and they both have signs on the road. One is typeset beautifully and designed to the nines. The other is written in marker on a piece of cardboard and they both say, “FRESH EGGS.” Which one do you think has the fresher eggs? He bet the place with the cardboard sign does.

So I bet the food is pretty good at this place. And I bet I have a typo in here somewhere…

~Mike

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Please leave more menus on my doorknob!”

  1. blackwatertown Says:

    Even better if the handwritten on cardboard sign reads: Fresh Egg’s. Can’t help having it imprinted on your consciousness then.

  2. Maria Says:

    I love me a good meatting.

    Interpret as you like!

    LOL great post, Mike.

  3. Rob Says:

    Seth Godin had a related post today, but his was more about authenticity and truthfulness http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2011/09/thursday-bonuses.html

    I do buy that these guys are spending every second on their awesomeness, and yeah, it’s humorous to laugh about their spelling and grammatical mistakes. However, to get to the next level, I believe they need a little polish. And that polish is really cheap.

    Ask an English speaking customer like Mike Lamonica to review their menu. I bet he’d do it for free!

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Seth stole from me! Actually, thanks for pointing that out. I loved his post. I would offer to proof their menus, but I’m finding beauty, humor and an occasional post from them.

      But from a business standpoint, you’re right.

      ~Mike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,521 other followers

