Will there be a FourSquare killer?


This is my first post so I thought I should get this one out of the way.

I know some of you are creeped out by geo-location programs like FourSquare and Gowalla.  But will there be a FourSquare killer? I’m gonna to go with no. Now, I’m not an expert on the “Craigslist Killer,” but if I remember, it was a random kind of thing.

Just because you Check-in at Pizza Rustica doesn’t mean you’re going to get offed at Pizza Rustica.  I don’t think the chances of you being taken out or attacked are any different than in the gen pop (you liked gen pop, I know).

And there are some who have said, “I’m only going to let my friends know where I am.” That would fall into the bad idea category.

According to the National Institute of Justice, “About 85 to 90 percent of sexual assaults reported by college women are perpetrated by someone known to the victim; about half occur on a date.” I would imagine the numbers are close if you’re out of college…

According to Clint Van Sant, a former FBI profiler and current MSNBC analyst, “…then they silently wait until their intended victim is alone.”  So if you’re “checking in”, check in with “three others”.  Please take a page from the Natalee Holloway tragedy and “never leave your wingman.”

Or you can Google a great article I found: “How to fight and not get your ass kicked”. I don’t know how to insert links yet. Deal with it.

If you are concerned, pack heat. If you are really concerned, get off the internet.  For 39.95, anyone can go on U.S. Search.com and find out anything they want about you. But if you look today, take 15 percent off.

Please stay safe. ~Mike

7 Responses to “Will there be a FourSquare killer?”

  1. Maria de los Angeles Says:

    Congrats on the new blog, Mike!

    As a woman, I am wary of letting the whole world know about where I am all the time. I check into restaurants and such but I don’t check in every time I go to the gym because I wouldn’t want the world to see a pattern in my whereabouts. I live in a very secure apartment with family but if I lived alone I wouldn’t want to use foursquare as much — not so much for fear of being robbed but for fear of someone expecting me at the door.

    If someone wants to rob your home and they are smart about it, they won’t rely on Foursquare to do so. They would stalk the house and make sure no one was really home. You can also check in after you’re done at a location so one’s check in time is not a reliable gauge of when you’re actually out of the house.

  2. 181TonyaT Says:

    Agreed. But sites like pleaserobme.com make checking in online a bit nerve racking. Let’s not forget Paris Hilton was robbed after stalkers saw her tweet announcing she left home.

    In any event, I point the finger at fuzzy surveillance cameras. They’re more of a threat in my book. It’s a fake deterrent and a false sense of security. You get the crime right on camera and no one can make out who it was!

  3. mobikeith Says:

    Great post, Mazel tov, Big Mike. ( By the way, your initials MLM, could stand for multi-level marketing, but I digress. )

    Perfect timing for a post on FourSquare. Lots of action in the LBS ( location based services ) space today led by the Facebook LBS product introduction tease.

    Check out these links for more on LBS and Foursquare.

    http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/03/09/foursquare-introduces-new-tools-for-businesses/?partner=rss&emc=rss

    http://news.cnet.com/8301-13846_3-10466180-62.html

    Everybody is worried about security but do we consider what was possibly the origin of this social media movement. Dating websites. Dating websites were able to very quickly and effectively monetize traffic.

    Best of luck in your blog about nothing.

    ( By the way, Alisha may be nominated for the Guinness Book of World Records for the world’s largest number of hashtags in a single comment. )

  4. Chris Says:

    I agree with all of you. Silly to assume that just because you’re checked in somewhere that your home is unattended. My wife is a green belt, and knows where the gun is too!

  5. OwenO Says:

    And we have two big dogs at home…they will bring you some heat.

    Great first post Mike. There’s plenty of information on Facebook…too.

  6. Alisha Vera Says:

    I don’t pack heat but MY BOYS do — #justsayin #alwaysprotected #neverstayinghome #notleavingtheinternet

  7. Jewel Says:

    Agreed. And another thing. Just because I’m at Walmart does not mean that my home is unattended. We are card carrying members of the NRA–Go ahead, make OUR day!

Leave a Reply

