One Hour


Time to spring ahead. One hour gone.  No one has given me a good answer why we do it.  So I thought I’d let you know what happens in an hour.

Every hour 14,698 babies will be born. We lose 3,600 acres of rainforest. Bill Gates will make $629,578.00.  6,507 will die from cancer worldwide. Americans will eat 4.1 acres of pizza. 25,000 iPads were sold at presale. Every hour you watch TV increases your risk of heart disease by 20%.  177.8 people will get married. The average person will blink 960 times. I will see 339 kids with their pants tied below their underwear on South Beach during Spring Break. Four people can find out if they could save money on car insurance with Geico. My son will tell me he’s hungry about twice. I will fall in love with Alicia Keys about 15 times. 1,137,500 tweets will be posted, about half by my prolific friend @elvisofdallas.

The only thing we are given is time. Make every hour count.

Postscript. Googling this stuff took about an hour. Your comments are always welcome here. ~Mike

21 Responses to “One Hour”

  1. Lizzette Sakumoto Says:

    It’s good to find great posts like this one. Thank you!

  2. Eileen Says:

    “6,507 will die from cancer worldwide. Americans will eat 4.1 acres of pizza. … 177.8 people will get married.”

    My brother died of cancer a few months ago. Less than a year earlier, he’d married a woman he deeply loved — even more than he loved pizza, a family joke. i miss him every minute, and also think about how much he made his time here count.

    the great part of this post is you took the hour to think about how much it matters. glad i read it!

  3. sirenadelfirey Says:

    Alicia Keys.. really? I gave up falling for the fake drones out there who pay their plastic surgeon more than I will make in my whole career. I wrote four awesome poems in an hour. Let’s see if I publish one of them today…

  4. This is What You Lose by Jumping Ahead One Hour | All Mint No Hole Says:

    […] So I thought I’d let you know what happens in an hour. Every hour 14,698 babies will be born. We lose 3,600 acres of rainforest. Bill Gates will make $629,578.00. 6,507 will die from cancer worldwide. Americans will eat 4.1 acres of pizza. 25,000 iPads were sold at presale. Every hour you watch TV increases your risk of heart diRead ahead […]

  5. Milind Says:

    If heart disease risk increases by 20% every hour, I’d be dead by the end of the day. 😉

  6. Chuck Says:

    Good post bro!

  7. Locutus Says:

    Ah, you’re forgetting we get the hour back in November!

  8. Marina_Ukraine Says:

    VERY interesting Mike, I never knew so much happens in our world in just 1 hour, thanks for it !

    Sincerely,

    Marina.
    Rivne – Ukraine.

  9. uberVU - social comments Says:

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by MikeLaMonica: The blog about nothing. Post 3 is up! http://bit.ly/by5PnL

  10. Jenny Says:

    You know, now I don’t feel so bad about sleeping til “11” today. Enjoyed the perspective and I’m glad you didn’t mention increased disease rates from drinking 5 beers and sleeping in haha.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Jenny-

      Thanks fer your comment. My comment to you: sorry we were in the 305 last night and you were in Boca. Don’t be jealous. Hope to catch you on the flipside. Thx again! ~Mike

  11. Nelson Wee Says:

    Nice read, one hour before I sleep (over here in Singapore, GMT+8). Can’t wait to read what you put together for “One Minute”!

  12. Jon Kolbe Says:

    Panic attack. Thank Mike. 😉

Leave a Reply

