Milky minutes


OK folks, I’ve been creating ads for more than 20 years.  Had commercials on the Super Bowl.  Along the way, snagged a Clio for Best Copywriting in the United States.  BFD. Please worship me when I find a cure for cancer.

Remember the milky minutes series from AT&T? http://youtube.com/watch?v=KgFw7o5hQtc To quote from the commercial: “For the last time, these minutes don’t expire.” If I were to  focus group this messaging, 100 out of 100 people would net out that AT&T minutes don’t expire.  Well, now I guess I have the equivalent of Telephonic Salmonella. Because if you look at the nifty exhibit here, I’m about to lose 726 minutes.  Yes the minutes have soured and I’m about to suffer the following symptoms:

Symptoms of Salmonella gastroenteritis include diarrhea, abdominal cramps, fever, nausea, and/or vomiting. In mild cases diarrhea may be non-bloody, occur several times per day, and not be very voluminous; in severe cases it may be frequent, bloody and/or mucoid, and of high volume.

I guess that’s what I get for not reading the fine print as it streamed by on their commercial. I may not be the first to tell you but there is such a thing as milky minutes and they do expire.

Anyone know a good e-Gastroenterologist? ~Mike

4 Responses to “Milky minutes”

  1. vicequeenmaria Says:

    If they’re expiring you better milk ’em for all their worth!

    Is a Pepto Tweetup in order?

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Maybe a lube up…I should call you later talk for a bit and leave the connection on all night for free att>att connection. Thx for tuning in! See ya soon. ~Mike

  2. Matt.mmwine Says:

    Hey Mike –
    Yeah – I guess they figure that most people will use their minutes in a year or so, or wont notice them “expiring” if they haven’t used them in a year.

    I took have minutes expiring each month. However, since I haven’t used the 1,500 rollover minutes in over a year, I don’t see myself going on a chat binge to use them up now!

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      For me it’s not really the minutes. It’s that they represented that the minutes didn’t expire and in fact they do. I’m workin’ the Chile connex! Thanks Matt. ~Mike

Leave a Reply

