A low tech party.


It’s been a while, but yesterday I went to a low tech, non-Twitter party.  A kids birthday party. About 50 or 60 people.  Bounce house.  Two Pinatas. Big food. It was a lot of fun, but when I got home, I thought about it. Not an iPhone in the place. Nary an iPad. No one was face timing or comparing devices. No bump apps. I’m imagining no one there has ever cranked out a Tweet let alone an RT. About as close as I got was one young girl who obviously had unlimited texting as you can see in the background in the picture below. But I did manage to take a couple of snapshots I think we all should try to do it more often. I found it refreshing. What do you think? ~Mike

Tags:

12 Responses to “A low tech party.”

  1. Eugene Ramirez Says:

    …i think the little girl was wishing for an iPhone right before blowing the candles!

  2. raisondart Says:

    Low tech or NO tech days are the best. In france this summer with 9 teens we had no internet connection, no cell phones (for the kids), no twitter, no texting, just learning to BE. 18 days. It was amazing and I hate how you get sucked back in to the phone, computer, internet, email.

  3. S.P. Gass Says:

    Glad you found it refreshing. I’m one of the ones trying to resist the “always on-line” trend. Evidently, I’m not doing too well though… commenting on a blog after midnight…

  4. mobikeith Says:

    A little low tech never hurt anyone.

    I just love to go to Tweetups to meet the people and talk to them in person after pinging them online, only to find so many peeps tweeting away.

    Go figure.

  5. Blanca Stella Mejia Says:

    I had a low tech day yesterday, hanging at a pool at a condo..watching lots of kids and families too.. I was reading a book..and after a couple hours, checked my twitter just for a bit. I should make at least 1 day – no tech day from now on. It’s very refreshing.

  6. JourneyOfNow Says:

    I’ve gone to a few low-tech parties, but I’ve started to notice younger and younger kids now have cell phones. Enjoy your Monday!

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      I did enjoy my Monday and I hope you did! I’ve noticed that too. I just don’t know what grade is the “right grade.” At least the kids were playing with each other and not their phones…~Mike

Leave a Reply

