At last, the 25 hour day


“There are not enough hours in the day,” the saying goes.

Well for many of us in the United States, we’ll get that extra hour when we turn the clocks back this weekend. I asked 100 people what they would do that extra hour. Here are the top line responses:

1) Sleep. By far this was the #1 answer. According to HealthGuidance, 11.1 percent of you did not get enough sleep in the last 30 days. Think it’s no big deal? Fatigue has been cited as contributing to the Exxon Valdez crash, the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster, the nuclear accident at Chernobyl and the nuclear accident at the Three Mile Island. So get some sleep.  The BP oil spill? That was just plain greed.

2) Exercise. You can never be too rich or too thin.  I guess thin won because exercising came in at #2. It’s currently estimated that 97 million adults are overweight or obese in this country alone. Since the United States is the undisputed “leader” in obesity, exercising would be a good idea.  I always see tons of new faces at the gym each January, but they pull the disappearing act by February. Then they return for a week or two right before summer and then they’re gone again. You know who you are!  I hope the people who said “exercise” can do it and keep it up.

3) Spend time with family. In my highly non-scientific survey, this rang in at #3 and no wonder. I look around and see people who are over scheduled, stressed and stretched out to the max. So I was glad to see people assigning their extra hour to this. Wouldn’t it be great if we could all get back to a regular kitchen table lifestyle? Remember when Saturdays were days off? Life was good then. Except when we got dragged antiquing.

4) Write a blog post.  Actually, that was my answer and I was the only one with that response. This took me about an hour to write.  So why not put up a post?  Since I’ve already used up my hour, it’s your turn.

What are you going to do with your extra hour?

~Mike

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

29 Responses to “At last, the 25 hour day”

  1. jill slaughter Says:

    at seven o’clock this morning i had determined that i has slept enough. i dressed in workout gear and exercised for an hour and a half. that takes care of numbers one and two on your list for most popular things to do with the gifted hour of time.
    i gave myself a manicure. rather than pay a disinterested nail technician to tear at my cuticles i soaked my hands in lavender scented soap, pushed back my cuticles with a new orange stick and rubbed on lemon cuticle cream. i stroked on my new base coat, color, and top coat all in one polish, and watched a cooking show as it dried to a glossy finish.
    although the polish will probably chip in two or three days i will have the memory of pampering myself during that extra hour this morning, instead of rocketing into my day.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Jill-

      It sounds like you took three hours as your one hour and I’m glad you enjoyed your day. My math says you owe us all about two hours. Thanks for spending some of today’s 1,500 minutes here with me.

      ~Mike

  2. Etiquette From the Trenches Says:

    Sadly, I think I used it trying to explain to my kids that it wasn’t time to wake up – they have no respect for a “fall back” time change! What little was left, I used to write a blog post. I hope to go for a jog this evening, especially after reading your #2.

    Have a great one,
    Amy

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Amy-

      The minute that you used to stop here means a lot to me. Time is all we have and I thank you for spending some of it with me. Enjoy your hour, however your choose to spend it.

      ~Mike

  3. Rob Says:

    I was gonna respond when you posted this, but I couldn’t think of anything good to say. LOL.

    I have bitched on my blog about the day they take away a drinking hour, but didn’t want to be so lame as to say I’d just drink more for this day, because I wont.

    Sleep more? My kids get up by the sun no matter if the blinds are drawn and if the clocks warn them. We let them stay up late tonight and made them run extra laps, so hopefully it’s a little later wake-up tomorrow.

    Here’s what I really think. When I do something awesome tomorrow, that is the hour I’ll assign to the “extra” hour. After all, I get to decide which is the 25th hour right?

    Ask me in the Spring about the hour Obama cuts out of my day! That will be a good response.

  4. writenowlife Says:

    Hi Mike,

    I took some extra hours today to catch up on some much needed rest, so I’m going to use that official extra hour for whatever needs to be done in the moment. It has gotten cold and snowy where I live, so I’m sure the extra hour will feel good on Monday. Too bad we can’t get some floater extra hours.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi, if I were the one dispensing extra hours, I’d try to toss a few to you. I hope you don’t use them to shovel snow, but then that could fall under #2, exercise.

      Thanks a bunch for stopping by and be well.

      ~Mike

  5. Vicequeenmaria Says:

    Great post, Mike! I love this one because it forces people to focus on what is important to them.

    I find this fascinating from a philosophical point of view because “time” as we know it is actually a human construct. Animals and plants don’t have watches and they simply live by the cycles of night/day and the seasons and the biological “clock” as it were.

    That extra hour really isn’t extra. We always have the same “time” and if we’re not already doing the things described above, then we aren’t living fully. I mean we have opportunities to take things off our plate even when spring forward comes around so we can focus on what is truly important to us.

    So I guess I’m not really going to do anything with that extra hour, because that hour is always there for me … 🙂 If anything, maybe I’ll try to spend more time meditating …

  6. Sueanne Shirzay Says:

    Oh… Sit around eating imaginary Bon bons ordering around imaginary servants. Same ole same ole. Just for one extra hour a day.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      And yes! More than a few people chimed in with eating…Personally, I’d do real Bob bons. And a pizza from Casola’s- big pizza hot spot here in Miami. If you were here, I’d bring it to you and be your servant. Even if it’s on my own hour.

      ~Mike

  7. Dee Says:

    Hi Mike,

    I will probably spend the hour changing all my alarm clocks, wall clocks, car, stove, microwave, etc..and if i have time left, maybe a nap!!

    great post!!

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Dee!

      You’re too funny. Do you really have that many clocks? I have a phone, a microwave and that’s about it!

      Go with the nap and come back with your usual energy. Su estas en mi suenitos!

      ~Mike

  8. blackwatertown Says:

    Our UK clocks have gone back already. I got home too late for family or exercise. So I posted my most recent offering instead. Which puts me ion the same category as you.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Well I hope you used your hour well and enjoyed it. If I could give you another one, I would. Perhaps this post was poor planning on my part not to include your time zone…

      My best from across the pond.

      ~Mike

  9. Terri Nakamura Says:

    Mike, I think @TheDudeDean is VERY ambitious, don’t you? An extra hour of sleep sounds VERY appealing to me right now! Cheers/Terri

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hello my new friend!

      You are a quick study. TheDude Dean is everywhere!

      Take the extra hour of sleep. It’s on me. Don’t answer any texts either. Thanks for stopping by. Sleep tight.

      ~Mike

      P.S. I have family in Kingston.

  10. Annette Says:

    I’m going to spend it staring at that beautiful picture of my cousins and my Uncle Chuck… and maybe have a glass of wine . You look so much like your Dad. Hugs.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Annette-

      What a great way to spend your hour. You’re tied for the sweetest in the world with your mom and sisters. If I could give you an extra, extra hour, I would.

      Love to all!

      ~Mike

  11. Tweets that mention At last, the 25 hour day « Mike LaMonica's Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by The Dude Dean, Jarret Streiner. Jarret Streiner said: SLEEEP: RT @MikeLaMonica: At last, the 25 hour day. http://bit.ly/922mje […]

  12. cinnamonflower Says:

    before the children, the answer was, “An extra hour of partying.” But not so much anymore!

  13. The Dude Dean Says:

    I think I’ll use my extra hour to take try to take over the world.

  14. Kathy Ansbro-Ryan Says:

    With my extra hour I’m going to take the time to breathe…. just stop and “smell the roses” so to speak. And then, when the hour is done, life will come crashing down into my reality once again.

  15. Kathy Ansbro-Ryan Says:

    With my extra hour – I’m going to breathe…. just stop and “smell the roses” so to speak. And then when that’s done life will come crashing back into my reality.

Leave a Reply

