Clean. Press. Rinse. Repeat.


It was pretty insane.

Today about 150 CrossFit athletes, 400 spectators, event officials and families from all around South Florida gathered at Flamingo Park on South Beach and jumped, ran, lifted and sweat for a great cause: SeeFit benefiting The Vision For Tomorrow Foundation.

The morning started out like most mornings for me…with an AMRAP competition (as many reps as possible). Competitors did clean and presses and kettlebell swings for 6 minutes.

But the event, sponsored by CrossFit 305, was just getting started. Next up was an 800 meter time trial Crossfit style. The men did the first 400 meters carrying a 60 pound sandbag and the women carried 40 pounders.

Then it was a sprint for the finish.

Even if you lost a shoe as my friend Jarret Streiner did.

Now that everyone was nice and limber, it was time for event #3: 10 Thrusters,  10 Burpee box jumpers (a favorite in my house).

Don’t forget 25 one shoe untied lateral jumps…

And 10 pullups. Repeat 3 rounds as fast as you can.

The kids had fun.

“It was great to compete for something that’s going to help someone. It makes you push harder,” said Streiner who took home the silver medal on the day.

Fun. Games. Fitness. Friendly competition. The end.

~Mike

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

19 Responses to “Clean. Press. Rinse. Repeat.”

  1. Lucky dc Says:

    Great picture 🙂
    Hmm.. What a nice agenda that was 🙂

  2. Brad Says:

    I guess this post is going to finally get me to rejoin the gym…thanks Mike!

  3. Etiquette From the Trenches Says:

    Awesome pictures! I’d planned on passing on a jog today but am now reconsidering. 🙂

    Thanks for the great photography and inspiration,
    Amy

  4. Jaimie Says:

    Awesome blog/pictures! Looked like a great competition.

  5. The Dude Dean Says:

    Nice action shots.

  6. Vicequeenmaria Says:

    Great pictures, Mike! From now on I’m going to called Mr. Streiner “One-shoed Jarrett” 🙂

  7. writenowlife Says:

    Mike, great pics!!! Amazing what one can will the body to do.

  8. Staci Garcia Says:

    Amazing photos. Amazing athletes. Amazing story.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Thank you Staci-

      As I said, it was insane. I wish I could have put more photos in, but this wasn’t about my shots. I was about everyone who put out. Maybe I’ll post some more on Flickr. But all that watching made me tired. Thanks a lot for spending some time here today. Wish you well.

      ~Mike

  9. Tweets that mention Clean. Press. Rinse. Repeat. « Mike LaMonica's Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jarret Streiner, MikeLaMonica and SFCrossFit, RArguello. RArguello said: We need more of this! “@jarret23: GREAT Write Up! RT @MikeLaMonica: Clean. Press. Rinse. Repeat. http://bit.ly/aSXe7Y #crossfit” […]

  10. Rob Says:

    Please kill me if you ever catch me signing up for something like that. I mean, I am all for working out and even moreso for charity, but bodily abuse is hopefully in my past.

    Nice job, Jarret

  11. Jarret Says:

    Thanks Mike for covering the event. Great photos as always.
    Glad you has fun, and the minis had a blast.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

