Do you patronize your local businesses?


Attention non-Kmart shoppers!  Keeping your business local is a beautiful thing.

I just bought a watch from my local jeweler in South Miami- South Miami Jewelers.  It’s a family owned and operated business that owner Geoffrey Meurrens says, “After 26 years, we’re becoming a South Miami icon- almost a landmark. Many of our customers have been coming in for at least 15 to 20 years. We’ve seen our clients’ children grow out of their strollers and turn into young men and women.”  I received an extra level of service and answers to a bajilloin questions I’ve had about my new watch. Hey, I know the internet, but can’t program a watch…

My next local guy, The Big Cheese. Great pizzeria/restaurant and another local institution, 25 years and going.  The Big Cheese has supported way too many local initiatives to list here not to mention serving up super food, pizza dough for the kids and an overall great experience. They were one of our generous hosts for our Twitter event, the #Chevypizzacrawl 305 edition. They even opened early for me last Super Bowl so I could pick up 100 chicken wings. Asked about my chicken wing order, Kitchen Manager Jarrod Ordonez said, “We help our customers and our local causes in any way we can. I could have done your chicken wing order in my sleep. We’re not going to say no to you.” And he didn’t mean me, he meant his customers and the community. Props to The Big Cheese.

Next up, Kendall Toyota. Bought 4 vehicles from them.  Whenever I need anything there, it’s done. I love my new Prius, but I did go too dark on the tints. I can’t see anything…ask for Mr. Shah or A.J. In service, ask for Carlos Rubio. Tell them I sent you.

Even though the internet has changed  the way we shop, I still do my best to patronize and promote my friends both in and outside of Social Media.  Like Sueanne Shirzay’s Etsy shop. Get your orders for hand-crafted bling in!

So.

Do you support your local businesses? Who are they? Name names! Why do you support them? Or why don’t you support them?  Have a great holiday y’all!

~Mike

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Do you patronize your local businesses?”

  1. Juana Says:

    You’ve read my blog, I couldn’t be any more patronizing. 😉

  2. Vicequeenmaria Says:

    I don’t do a lot of shopping but you know I’m all about the South Miami thing. Actually, D & L Salon sponsors my blog. They are a local salon right around the corner and I support the owner’s entrepreneurship 100%. Plus she keeps my red locks lookin’ fab!

    There are numerous wonderful little shops on that drag between US1 and Red Road on Sunset Drive.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Buenas Dias-

      The only thing I don’t like about doing the South Miami thing is the parking enforcement people. Yes, I put extra money in the meter, but sometimes the line is long at the bank…I wish they would chill out. I’m doing my part to keep South Miami humming as well…

      ~Mike

  3. CogitoErgoCogitoSum Says:

    I might be wrong, but Im sure you mean “patron”. Not “patronize”. Im sure patron is both a noun and a verb. But patronize means something… different.

  4. blackwatertown Says:

    Yup – local excellent butcher.
    Local minimart.
    Local post office – in fact it pains me to go almost anywhere else.
    Hair cutting in the next village over – two great guys from La Corunna.
    Oh – and nearly forgot – my local – which brought in the beer I asked them for on draft.
    Makes sense if you want your community to actually be a community rather than a hollowed out husk.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Good morning!

      Sorry slow to respond. I knew I always liked you. Please let me know if you’re ever in the Miami area. I’ll take you to some of the local places!

      Happy holidays to you.

      ~Mike

  5. Sueanne Shirzay Says:

    I love shopping small businesses both locally and online for a couple of reasons. First of all, they have the coolest “stuff” because they don’t have to cater to mainstream America. They have their own niches. Secondly, I have always admired people with entrepreneurial spirits. I know if I and others don’t support them, they’ll be gone. Thanks for including me in this post, Mike.

  6. Rob Says:

    Hey Mike.

    I can’t say that I do a lot of local shopping with the types of stores you mention, though it is important I agree. Miramar, at least out west, has a different dynamic than a lot of local areas. New strip malls and every corner anchored by a CVS, not giving much chance for the smaller family types. However, there are some exceptions like restaurants that I’ve tried. Also, many big names are only little franchisees, so don’t forget that.

    I would make the comment that I do support local businesses every day, though most are merely a bump in the road for a big company. That is because my Miramar Publix employs people that live in Miramar. Same thing with my Miramar Hess station and my Miramar Kohl’s. If Total Wine would open up a Miramar store that would be cool so I don’t need to go to Pembroke Pines!

    I am proud of my community and try to promote our businesses, culture, events, etc. here, despite not really being (or having the opportunity to be) a mom and pop shopper. Do me a favor and check out my other blog http://www.CityOfMiramarFlorida.com which has some content though I’ve been slacking slightly lately.

    Later.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Rob-

      To me shopping local doesn’t mean shopping mom and pop. Thanks for clearing up – shopping local means exactly that. Even if you shop at a chain, your neighbor works there.

      I got dibs on the next Total Wine in 305. And I’ll be sure to check out you’re other blog. Didn’t know it was there. I’d love to promote it, participate and support what you support, even though I’ve been slacking a bit myself.

      Always my best to you.

      ~Mike

  7. mkhall Says:

    I try to, as much as possible. I exclusively use Fast Frame to prepare my artwork in North Miami Beach, for example, because the owners are artists as well as businesspeople. I also like to shop at Books and Books when I can, but I confess that I also use Amazon a lot because of convenience (i.e., not having to put pants on).

    For food, though, I rarely go to national chains.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hey M.K.-

      If we all only shopped local, that could be crippling. I go Amazon when I can’t find a title like Craig Agranoff’s Online Reputation Management. I also love pajama shopping!

      Thank you my friend, happy shopping and happy holidays!

      ~Mike

  8. Tweets that mention Do you patronize your local businesses? « Mike LaMonica's Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by The Dude Dean, Vice-Queen Maria, Sueanne Shirzay and others. Sueanne Shirzay said: Thanks for mentioning moi, Mike! : ) RT @MikeLaMonica: Do you patronize your local businesses? http://bit.ly/ggdnhl […]

  9. LoreL Says:

    Well on a regular basis I go to Footworks to pick up shoes, laces, and my gummies for my long run. I’m a faithful customer, they know my name. :). Then when I take breakfast into work, I stop at El Brazo Fuerte for the best pastelitos is Miami. Sometimes these local stores are a little more expensive, but the service that you get is just priceless!

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      I would expect nothing less from you. Even though this economy is screaming for all of us to get the best deals, I think the best deal is helping make sure your local people are doing well. Footworks is a great example. I would have included them, but I’m not a runner type. Thanks for stopping in and happy shopping!

      ~Mike

Leave a Reply

