Are you being stalked?


Something spooked me a bit yesterday.

Got an email from one of my credit card issuers asking me how I liked my meal at blah, blah, blah.  I didn’t appreciated it and felt like I was being stalked.  Which gave me the idea to loosely document one day and just some of the times I was recorded, either digitally or in person.

1) Woke up with two cell phones on and thought, if necessary, I could be pinged by anyone who knew how to do it. Had them on me all day.

2) CVS. Photographed on multiple security cameras.

3) Swiped credit card at gas station. Photographed on security camera(s).

4) Jumped onto computer. Logged into three accounts, logged out. Digital footprints galore.

Yes there’s a security camera in the bird’s nest!

5) Metrorail parking lot. Multiple security cameras.

6) Swiped Easy Card acknowledging at least the presence of my card four times.

7) Took an escalator up and escalator down four times. Photographed on multiple security cameras.

9) Walked by a house on way to work. Security camera seemed to be pointing towards street. Flipped the bird.

10) Who knows if the Google Street View guys captured me? It captured a mugging in progress!

11) Punched in an alarm code granting me access. It knew I was there.

12) Received a “Happy New Year” e-mail listing new red light cameras in my area.

Here’s me being caught on film:

13) And I’m sure there’s a record of when I logged into WordPress, wrote this, hit publish and logged out.

How about you? Did I miss anything? Let me know. Fourth Amendment aside, do you ever think about how many times you are stalked daily?

~Mike

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Are you being stalked?”

  1. blackwatertown Says:

    It’s hard to escape it.
    You could try turning off your phones, wearing a hoodie and paying cash.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hey! Didn’t see this until just now. Yeah the whole thing kinda creeps me out even though it’s perfectly legal. It happened again this morning. AND all I was doing was getting coffee at the local coffee shop!

      I Googled it and a cell phone can be pinged…even if it’s off! So I guess that leaves me with a hoodie and cash.

      Thanks my friend!

      ~Mike

  2. Juana Says:

    Don’t get me started. I’m one of those crazy conspiracy peeps who think everyone, esp. the gov’t is spying on me. Carnivore is probably reading my email right now – plus those creepy expressway cams freak me out. Dios!

  3. Etiquette From the Trenches Says:

    Big Brother’s watching! Creepy. I think I’m captured less living in a smaller town in the Midwest; however, I leave my share of digital footprints. We recently removed our home from GoogleMaps. Not sure that it mattered much but it made us feel better!

    Amy

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Amy-

      Yeah, it’s getting a little out of control and that’s what started this mini rant. I didn’t know you could have your home removed form Google maps. Thanks for sharing that. Have a great weekend!

      ~Mike

  4. Rob Says:

    Hey Mike.

    Here’s what you do. Take a heavy-duty survival course and move out to the property where the Unibomber was captured. Be sure to take as much cash with you as possible. Next, you’ll want to cut the skin off of all your fingertips like in that movie Seven so you will never be printed. Finally, never break any laws including setting off random bombs. You’re likely never to be bothered again.

    Or you could hire Jack Bauer as a consultant!

    Nice post, makes you think.

  5. sarahelles Says:

    Ha! About halfway down I thought about those pesky red light cameras. I got a picture of myself running one in the mail the other day a link to the video… fail. But in all honesty, it is pretty creepy.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Sarah-

      I guess this means we should at a minimum dress a little nicer before running out for morning errands. Scary that you got a pic from a mall security camera.

      I’m creeped out myself.

      ~Mike

      P.S. What are you wearing? J/K

  6. staci garcia Says:

    Ha ha! Mike, I’m stalked and I know it. I’ve got 8 cameras inside my home blasting my actions over the internet to my future ex-husband. He calls it “for the protection for the family” but there are no cameras facing any of our doors!

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Staci, 8? That’s a lot.

      Actually, I’m thinking about getting a surveillance system for my home on top of the alarm. Do you have one of those systems you can watch from your office? Let me know and thanks! ~MIke

  7. Carlos Miller Says:

    Did you read about the Drone?

    http://www.wsvn.com/news/articles/local/21003198189967/

  8. Tilly Bud Says:

    Frightening. I try not to think about it.

  9. Amber DeGrace Says:

    What a great post. Scary, isn’t it? Keep an eye on your suspicious neighbor. Watch out for shady looking folks. We are always watched and it is concerning. But…difficult to avoid or do anything about. We are no longer innocent until guilty. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

