Email turned off? Is it the new pink slip?


Got a somewhat disturbing email from LinkedIn the other day.  A full 35% of my connections have changed positions last year. It made me wonder.

Is the crew I run with full of climbers or full of people who found themselves unhappy? Were these changes voluntary or involuntary? Or did they find themselves in the wrong position at the wrong time only to land on their feet?

The good news according to Challenger Gray & Christmas is that job reductions are on the decline. “The downsizing phase of the recession really came to an end in 2009. Job cutting fell dramatically in the second half of that year. The pace of downsizing continued to slow in 2010 to levels we have not seen since before the 2001 recession,” said John A. Challenger, chief executive officer of Challenger, Gray & Christmas. And here’s a handy dandy chart from their report.

The DJIA closed today at 1 2 1/2 year high today which doesn’t suck for anyone. So with a broad-brush, this is looking good. But the 35% turnover still seems kind of high to me.  If you changed jobs last year, why? Voluntary, or involuntary? Was your email turned off or did you tell tell them to turn it off.  I understand if you want to post anonymously. Have at it.

~Mike

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Email turned off? Is it the new pink slip?”

  1. blackwatertown Says:

    Mike – like your secret.
    Yes, like the others, I changed last year. SOme good, some bad aspects – but I wasn’t too upset overall – I welcomed a change.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Paul-

      I suppose we should connect on LinkedIn. Then I would have another connection that landed on their feet. I’m glad you found something that was a welcome change. Yep, some good can come out of this as too.

      Best to you.

      ~Mike

  2. Cynthia Says:

    Pretty sad, it’s tough out there. Good to know however that they were able to find or create new positions. I would imagine that this has spawned people to create the businesses they always dreamed of starting.

    I worry about the people of Myspace that were laid off. I am sure they are a talented group of people that were stifled by bad business and design decisions out of their control.

    Yes, I have had an experience of company email password being changed, and then knowing things had changed. I can’t wait till we Americans again feel a sense of stability in our jobs.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Cynthia and it’s nice to meet you-

      A confession: I’ve never been fired. My secret? Stay underpaid.

      I also wish we all felt more stable, even if we run our own shows. I have friends that have been super loyal and great performers at work still are nervous about what’s next. I hope everyone develops a plan B, C and D. Even when the economy is good. Thanks for stopping in!

      ~Mike

  3. Tweets that mention Email turned off? It’s the new pink slip. « Mike LaMonica's Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by The Dude Dean and MikeLaMonica. MikeLaMonica said: New post: Email turned off? It’s the new pink slip. http://bit.ly/fy5mFZ […]

  4. mkhall Says:

    I got that e-mail, too. To be frank, it was depressing as hell. I don’t begrudge any of my LinkedIn contacts their new successes, but I’ve been looking for a job since I was laid off in August of 2009. Having a social networking site rub my nose in it was discouraging.

    To answer your question, though, it’s also a youth thing. Employers don’t expect workers to stay with them for more than a few years, so they often treat them as disposable. Workers don’t see loyalty from their employers, so they jump at the next thing to come along. A 35% shift in jobs from a sample in marketing or creative sound a bit low, in truth.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi MK-

      I don’t begrudge any of them either. Perhaps this economy is like a snow globe and has shaken people around. I’m glad they landed on their feet and I hope you do too. If I can help in any way, let me know. Thanks my friend.

      ~Mike

Leave a Reply

