Google+ Are you on it offensively or defensively?


Advertising giant Jerry Della Femina once said there are two kinds of people who read the Wall Street Journal.

There are those who want to know all the important business news and stay ahead. And there are those who don’t want to not know what the next guy knows and fall behind. Readers playing offense and readers are playing defense.

I’m just one guy sitting in apartment in Miami, FL., but Google has had its failures. Google X, Google Catalog, Google Buzz, Web Accelerator, Video Player, Google Answers, Google Wave, Wiki Search, Google Audio Ads, Dodgeball, Jaiku, etc. Googling around it’s known as the Google Graveyard.

So I ask, are you on Google+ offensively to ride the wave or defensively so you don’t get left at the gate in case it takes off? Not interested in Google+? Why?

~Mike

Tags: , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Google+ Are you on it offensively or defensively?”

  1. Terez Says:

    My reason for being on Google+ is curiosity. However, after using the service for little over a week, my feeling is Google has hit a home run. Why? Well the interface is clean and sleek. The circles feature is great for dividing up your contacts according to how you actually connect with them. For instance, you probably have different interactions with co-workers than you would close friends and family. Sure the service isn’t perfect, but it still is in beta. Besides all these other points, what really impresses me about Google+ is the hands-on approach by its development team! They regularly post videos on the site encouraging feedback and thanking users for providing it. They post frequent status updates about major changes to the platform. It’s not unheard of for Google+ engineers to pop-in on Hangouts and interact with people. It’s this engagement with the users that helps makes using Google+ a great experience for me. When was the last time a Twitter or Facebook staffer engaged users in this way? For me, Google+ is already a success.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Good Morning Terez,

      Thanks for ringing in on this. I agree with everything you said. Google+ is almost putting out too much stuff too fast or maybe everyone else is as well and it’s all getting mixed together.

      Seems like you have gone in deeper than I have. I’m starting to feel a little SM platform fatigue…

      Looks like your relationship with Google + is off to a great start. And thanks for +ing me!

      ~Mike

  2. Jeff Zelaya Says:

    I say ride the wave! What’s the worst that can happen if Google+ doesn’t succeed. As social media thought leaders and fans it’s important for us to stay current. It’s all a learning experience anyways.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      RT @JeffZelaya I say ride the wave! What’s the worst that can happen if Google+ doesn’t succeed. As social media thought leaders and fans it’s important for us to stay current. It’s all a learning experience anyways.

      I’m with you Jeff! Thanks for stopping by. I’ve been seeing a lot of posts about Google+ but none have asked this most basic question. I’ve been referring people to your site. Tell me if you want me to stop:)

      ~Mike

  3. Jeannette Says:

    Heck, I didn’t even know about Google+ until your post. Seems like a new version of facebook in a way, just more specialized. I think I’ll just wait. I don’t need something else to keep track of.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Fair enough and that’s part of why I asked. While there’s a lot of buzz about it, I didn’t see it trending on Twitter…so far it seems that only the social media super users are on there. And me.

      ~Mike

  4. Rob Says:

    I haven’t received my invitation to join yet. Should I keep waiting?

Leave a Reply

