Holidays saved by SEO!


Shopping, shuttling the kiddos around, holiday family drama. It’s enough to make you lose your mind. On top of that I lost my wallet and the freak was on.

Frantically looking in every place possible. In the bushes to see if someone grabbed the cash and tossed the wallet. Asking the manager at Winn-Dixie to look at the tapes of when I checked out and know I had it last. Anything, everything. The worst feeling ever.

Phone rings. Here’s the message:

Turns out the guy who had my wallet saw my insurance card in there and called Geico who in turn called me. You think he could have used the word “wallet” in there???  Sounds like an upsell call to me. Would you have returned that phone call?

Almost done here. Phone rings 5 minutes later from a 305 number. The guy Googled me, got my number and called to give me the good news. I offered to take pictures of his kids to repay the favor. I hope he takes me up on it.

~Mike

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Holidays saved by SEO!”

  1. blackwatertown Says:

    Rubbish Geico call.
    Champion bloke who found your wallet. It happened to me in London a few weeks ago – great difficulty in getting speedy response from train companies (though to be fair I did finally get through to helpful people) – but it was an Italian man who tracked me down and from whom I was able to retrieve it. A lovely lovely Italian man. No strings either. But I gave him a bottle of whiskey all the same.

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hey mate,

      WordPress glitch and didn’t see this. Hope all is well on your side of the pond. FYI, the guy never took me up on the offer of the free photo shoot of his kids which leaves me a bit disappointed.

      He saved my butt.

      ~Mike

  2. Annette Says:

    Love your story and especially like to hearing about it this time of year. I maintain that most people are good and honest though we hear more about those who are not. Sorry about the big freak though 🙂

    • Mike LaMonica Says:

      Hi Anette,

      It was a study in contrasts. From the worst feeling to the most relieved feeling with on phone call. But there was reason to freak out. My best to everyone…

      ~Mike

  3. Rick Says:

    I’m assuming he called Geico because that’s your insurance and you had a card in there?

    .

  4. Rob Says:

    Dude, that Geico guy blew it. Could have been a headline “Geico Hero in Local Wallet Case” but not with that stupid sales call.

    The guy who found your wallet probably could sense they were going to screw it up with thorough ineptitude, prompting plan B.

    Nice result though.

Leave a Reply

